When adding an action to a workflow, I'm getting an AppleScript -2702 error

When adding an action to a workflow, I'm getting an AppleScript -2702 error

Postby Automated Workflows, LLC » 06.20.10 8:52 pm

Q: When adding an action to a workflow, I'm getting an AppleScript -2702 error, "The result of a numeric operation was too large." What can I do to resolve this?

A: This may be related to an AppleScript bug in Snow Leopard. It has been reported to Apple, but my understanding is that it has not yet been resolved. One reason for this is that it doesn't occur on everyone's machine, and I believe it's somewhat difficult to reproduce. In any case, there may be a workaround. I've been told that the error only occurs when running Automator in 64-bit mode. So, please try configuring it to run in 32-bit mode instead. To do this...

* Quit Automator
* Go to the /Applications folder
* Select Automator
* Choose File > Get Info
* In the information window for Automator, select the "Open in 32 Bit Mode" checkbox
* Relaunch Automator
Automated Workflows, LLC Support

AppleScript * Automator * Workflow Automation
Products, Training, Custom Development Services
http://www.automatedworkflows.com
User avatar
Automated Workflows, LLC
Site Admin
 
Posts: 625
Joined: 03.28.07 9:37 am
Location: USA

Re: When adding an action to a workflow, I'm getting an AppleScript -2702 error

Postby led » 06.29.10 10:05 pm

I am also haunted by this -2702 error -- and I am not running Automator. I am running a custom Cocoa app which uses NSAppleScript to trigger pre-compiled scripts. It has worked well for years, and has worked under Snow Leopard until just recently.

Since I am not using Automator, the workaround you presented is not applicable.

Any advice or suggestions appreciated!
led
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 06.29.10 9:28 pm

Re: When adding an action to a workflow, I'm getting an AppleScript -2702 error

Postby Automated Workflows, LLC » 06.29.10 11:04 pm

Unfortunately, I'm afraid I don't have a specific workaround I can offer you. My advice would be to file a radar bug report with Apple, so they are aware of your specific issue. The more folks that report this issue, the better. http://bugreport.apple.com/.

If you are able to identify a resolution or workaround, I would appreciate it if you could share it with me. I can be reached directly at support at automatedworkflows.com.

Regards,

-Ben
Automated Workflows, LLC Support

AppleScript * Automator * Workflow Automation
Products, Training, Custom Development Services
http://www.automatedworkflows.com
User avatar
Automated Workflows, LLC
Site Admin
 
Posts: 625
Joined: 03.28.07 9:37 am
Location: USA


Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron